Spice Up Your Life : The Ultimate Shoe Off

Having already discussed shoulder parties (neon satchel, anyone?), and with summer just around the corner of “I Need a Tan” and “Margarita St.”, it is time to address another important, nay, critical subject matter: footwear.

Disclamer: Depending on when your mother popped you out of her lady bits you were born, we may or may not have the same cultural references.

Case in point: the Spice Girls.

Let’s take a trip back to the oh so glorious 90’s. Some call these platforms, others “wedges”, and even “platform wedges”, but super kewl fashion bloggers say “flatforms”. I like to roll with super kewl fashion bloggers, so flatforms it is!

I used to be obsessed with the Spice G’s and their ever so chic attire.  I guess 10-year-old me had a profound desire to look like a cheap hooker a British pop star. Needless to say, my parents never caved in to my ridiculous sartorial demands. In hindsight, it wasn’t a bad parenting decision, but we’re not here to discuss how to raise your annoying child, but rather to celebrate the circle of life. Yes, LIFE. What goes around comes around.


Click here for details

THE FLATFORM IS BACK, PEOPLE, AND IT’S HARDER, BETTER, FASTER, STONGER THAN EVER. I CAN HARDLY CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT. This summer, we’ll all (I will) finally get to live our (my) childhood dream (and by that I mean wear hazardous shoes). Who’s with me? Ankle sprain coming right up!

By the way, I am well aware of the fact that every single fashion blog has already covered this trend, but I like to get my inspiration elsewhere (see TLC’s programming) and so I give you: The Ultimate Shoe Off.


Click here for details

Dramatic, right? If I had to pick, I’d go with Jeffrey Campbell’s Sue Bees, and rock ’em with socks. I’m crazy like that. 

Which pair would YOU choose?

So many options, so little time (and money).

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

